Teens Tell Their Story – The Struggles of Being a Teen

So this is the first week of the Teens Tell Their Story project. It sounds like it’s going to turn out amazing! So the first topic of the week is ‘the struggles of being a teen’….so here we go.

Going back and forth with what you want to do the rest of your life.  I think this is a major thing. When you’re in high school, you don’t worry about it and think “I’ll figure it out once I get into college..no biggie” Well that’s what I did at least. I went all through out high school, until my senior year, thinking that I would figure it out some other day. Leave it to the future Ky.

WRONG CHOICE! My senior year, I decided to become a dental assistant. So I went into this dental program my school offered and did that all jazz. But once I was finished I wasn’t happy. I didn’t want to become a dental assistant anymore. I guess mostly because I didn’t pass the main test to make me actually become an assistant. So that brought down a lot of my confidence.

Then I went on to becoming a counselor. That lasted about 2 weeks. I then moved onto wanting to go into the business field. That is still going on now….but I’m kind of back to the idea of being a dental assistant. Maybe if I really put in all my effort in this time. I mean it was my senior year! I wasn’t 100% focused or studied.

Anyways!!! The point of this post is that teens have the pressure to hurry and pick a career before it’s “too late”. When really, it’s perfectly OK to go all over the charts (like I did) with picking a profession. Don’t let the pressure get to you & if anybody tells you otherwise, just brush them off! 🙂

-Ky

6 thoughts on “Teens Tell Their Story – The Struggles of Being a Teen

  1. Hey! I’m in my senior year right now so I totally get it. The pressure to decide what we want to do in life as a profession can be really intense especially when we haven’t had a chance to explore our options. And so I agree that we need to take our time and not hurry into making decisions.

    Like

    1. Exactly! I figured that if we are going to spend thousands in college, we might as well wait and chose what we want to do and get our degrees in. Instead of wasting our time & money!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I’m going into my senior year, and I’ve always considered myself lucky that I knew what I wanted to do. I’ve seen so many people who share your struggle; it really is a difficult decision!! Great first post for Teens Tell Their Story! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

